Welcome to Shogi Village

Hello and welcome to everyone who stumbles upon this blog,

My name is Julian and I’m a shogi player from Germany. I’ve been playing shogi for a little over a year now and decided that it was time to start an English language blog on shogi of my own.

A question sheet sent to me by professional turned Karolina Styczinska, who has her own blog on shogi at https://shogiismylife.wordpress.com/ ,  inspired me to start a blog directed towards shogi enthusiasts and those people who aspire to become shogi enthusiasts (there’s hardly any way around it, anyways).

As you might have gathered from this blog’s title, I’m but a mere 4Kyu (according to FESA ranking) and there is, of course, the valid question of what I could have to say about Shogi that stronger players don’t already know.

Surely, there must be at least one stronger, smarter and more knowledgeable player who would be willing to start a blog?

Maybe so, but I plan on doing something different here.

Instead of going into the intricate lines of various Joseki, which are most probably already covered in some of Hidetchi’s videos on YouTube or discussed in a book you probably own, I want to write about everything that has got to do with being an amateur player in this small, tight-knit shogi world that has been built in Europe. I may, however, occasionally post pictures of situations I encountered in my own games and invite the reader of my blog to participate in a conversation about these positions.

Topics that I have already kind of planned out are:

  • Losing and coping: The balancing act between self-acceptance and self-loathing
  • Inexplicable blockages and an explanation for them
  • Teaching and promoting shogi to others
  • Knowledge, Brain power, Experience: The essentials of Shogi?!
  • A quick and confused guide through the labyrinth of outdated Joseki

I hope that there is a readership for such topics among the small group of shogi players. Even if there isn’t, I hope I will continue this blog in order to articulate my thoughts on shogi.

Feel free to suggest any topics you’d like to have discussed on this blog in the comment sections below.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Shogi Village

  1. Wisu ~
    Well, concerning the topic of “losing”, i would share my point of view as a theorist. The psychology of the player sure plays a great deal not only when losing but more importantly during the game. I think that amateur should probably get used to losing and most importantly play with no frustration nor fear as if they are training even in tournament, because not only they learn to control their feelings and they will learn how they should’ve done thing in the post-game analysis. Myself i think that being put at disadvantage is thrilling, and most of the game I is when the opponent thinks i’m losing. Lately I’ve encountered a terrible situation that ruined my whole day, early in the morning I’ve played like 3 games in shogiwars won 2 and failed the last one, i was so pissed because clearly i didn’t want to play the game he was forcing me to. Looking at the table, there was no elegance in the moves from his part, I hated that game but still wanted to win. Anyway i missed some moves because i lost my willing to fight. At the end i closed the app without thinking,then i remembered that i didn’t analyse the game. At that moment i couldn’t feel more down than that, not only I’ve lost but still didn’t knew the very reason it turned out like this. All this to say, to keep your cool during the games even when you feel like losing because among amateur mistakes are very common specially when they are winning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

